Join discussions on moving to and living in the USVI, ask questions, share info & tips! (Vacationing? Visit Travel Message Board)

Re: Insurance

threestak
September 26, 2011 03:59AM

Hey Guys,

I was hoping to gain some of insight into what insurance companies our on St. Thomas and which ones offer the best premiums, and what your experiences have been. Thanks in advance.

Raj H.

Marty on STT
September 26, 2011 07:35AM

Most insurance companies charge very similar rates for auto insurance...insurance was not required until about 8 or ten years ago, so the 'required' insurance is usually about $250-$280/yr...of course, if you finance the vehicle and have a lien on it, the rates can be much higher. First Insurance, Family Insurance, Guardian Insurance are a few of the more popular ones...check the yellow pages at www.viphonebook.com. I, personally use USAA, as I am a Veteran, and the rates can't be beat.

~Marty smiling

"We're all here...cuz we're not all there!"

guice
September 26, 2011 08:09AM

I have USAA, too. But outside of them, Guardian provided the best rates, and I hear good things about them.

awesomechick99
September 26, 2011 04:59PM

Hi everyone! I also have USAA because my father was a colonel in the Army. Have you used their bank before? I was thinking about using them for my checking account and wondered if anyone else had experience over there with them. I didn't find anything in the search about their banking. Thanks! excited

East Ender
September 26, 2011 05:56PM

Raj: What sort of insurance are you asking about?

nedalford
September 30, 2011 09:57AM

I use Hartford!! I’ve been with them for years and they’ve handled my policy really well. I used to compare auto insurance quotes and switch providers every year, but these guys gave me the best deal, so I’ve stayed with them.

Marty on STT
October 01, 2011 09:52PM