Join discussions on moving to and living in the USVI, ask questions, share info & tips! (Vacationing? Visit Travel Message Board)

Areas to avoid?

elroddanielle
March 16, 2016 01:05PM

Hello all! I'm new to the island and want to drive around and explore all St. Croix has to offer. What areas should I avoid for safety purposes? Thanks!

Re: Areas to avoid?

speee1dy
March 16, 2016 02:06PM

i dont know of any that are worse than others. just take normal precautions

terry
March 16, 2016 04:50PM

During the day all areas are okay.I don't stay out late at night.In C-sted I try to park within a couple of blocks of the main area.

NJoy
March 16, 2016 09:58PM

I am in the process of re-locating to St Thomas. So, I don't have a specific recommendation I can offer, but would caution to exercise "Standard Precautions" as you would in any new place.

Read local police reports for prior incidents on the Island so you can gauge what areas are most problematic and when. Hopefully you can easily find them online but if not visit the local Police Station. I understand your question. I have started following the local newspapers there and they report on local crime so you may gain valuable information there too.

From what I understand STX is a small Island so things can't be that bad. If you have newly re-located to STX, a buddy system for companionship while you are out and about will help.

Best practice is to get a handle of what is really going on there, then just enjoy the Island Paradise, and all it has to offer.

Have an enjoyable week ahead in STX!

OldTart
March 17, 2016 06:18AM

NJoy
1. ... Hopefully you can easily find them online but if not visit the local Police Station.

2. From what I understand STX is a small Island so things can't be that bad ... !

1. Mayberry isn't in the equation here and it's highly unlikely that any officer at any of our precincts is either willing or able to sit down and explain local crime statistics.