Join discussions on moving to and living in the USVI, ask questions, share info & tips! (Vacationing? Visit Travel Message Board)

Fishing in STX

Treeman
May 22, 2017 02:05PM

Good Afternoon. We are heading down for our PMV II at the end of June. For some fun I was thinking about going fishing (I have a lot of experience inshore and offshore).

Wondering if you could recommend a good charter captain for 1/2 day.

Re: Fishing in STX

Alana33
May 22, 2017 06:15PM

What island?

singlefin
May 22, 2017 06:32PM

www.hookandsunfishingstcroix.com

JohnnyU
May 22, 2017 09:27PM

Mike @ STX inshore fishing Charters

Treeman
May 23, 2017 07:19AM

AandA2VI
May 28, 2017 10:05PM

Sadly we are quite overfished unless you go way offshore. West is decimated. I'd also like to personally throat punch the person who shot the giant barracuda that hangs out under the pier. He's suffering, we've tried to get close to pull the spear out which is imbedded in him and didn't kill him. It's sticking out of him and even above the water line. Probably a 3ft spear. We are trying to figure out a way to get him and cut it off at least. Maybe have to cast net him from a paddle board? No clue. He's at least 4ft. Never bothers anyone, always minds his own business and always leaves when humans are near.... which is making it really hard to help him.

Also, why the F do people fish at the pier? There's nothing there, people! Nothing but very very small fish and I'm sick of taking off thousands of yards of line from the pillars. So annoying.

islandjoan
May 29, 2017 10:40AM

thumbs downmadsad poor barracuda that sucks so bad!!! Thanks for trying to save it I hope you can.

jasona
May 29, 2017 01:20PM