Notifications
Clear all

Trip Advisor Will Not Post Negative Reviews

 
GLantern
(@GLantern)
Active Member

After trying to post negative reviews on Trip Advisor, I contacted them via e mail to find out why. I got a generic e mail stating that my review got caught up in their filters and were not within company guidlines. The reviews did not contain anything that should not have been published in my opinion.
I did a Google search and apparently Trip Advisor is now owned by Expedia. Negative reviews may impact their travel site so reviews that are too negative will not be published. That's a huge conflict of interest.

Quote
Topic starter Posted : October 7, 2013 8:13 pm
JulieKay
(@JulieKay)
Trusted Member

TripAdvisor WAS owned by Expedia, since 2006, but was sold off as an independent company in 2011, and is no longer associated with any specific travel website. I have had zero trouble posting reviews both positive and negative lately, and have also seen many recent negative reviews, some of them for locations on St. Croix.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 7, 2013 8:33 pm
JulieKay
(@JulieKay)
Trusted Member

The reviews did not contain anything that should not have been published in my opinion.

And this is the key - TripAdvisor didn't agree. I've had reviews on other sites (like Amazon) that didn't "go live" because they claimed they didn't meet their guidelines, but no biggie. It doesn't mean anything in particular other than some reviews don't make it through the filters.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 7, 2013 8:35 pm
East Ender
(@east-ender)
Expert

I have seen plenty of negative reviews (and stupid reviews) on Trip Advisor.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 7, 2013 9:23 pm
Jamison
(@Jamison)
Trusted Member

What drives people to want to write these reviews?

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 10, 2013 1:58 pm
Tiberius
(@Tiberius)
Advanced Member

The reviews did not contain anything that should not have been published in my opinion.

And this is the key - TripAdvisor didn't agree. I've had reviews on other sites (like Amazon) that didn't "go live" because they claimed they didn't meet their guidelines, but no biggie. It doesn't mean anything in particular other than some reviews don't make it through the filters.

Right. Their "filters" flag negative reviews of chosen resorts etc. I reviewed a dive shop here on STT and it should have been published. But, it was flagged by their mysterious "filters". It seems that destinations that receive the most reviews compared to others are the ones that you will not see any negative reviews.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 10, 2013 2:02 pm
LiquidFluoride
(@LiquidFluoride)
Trusted Member

What drives people to want to write these reviews?

probably the same motivation that caused Minnesota to pass a law stating you cannot ride a bicycle inside your house....

some people just can't mind their own Gdamn business & want to force their point of view on others at any/every opportunity.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 10, 2013 2:24 pm
watruw8ing4
(@watruw8ing4)
Trusted Member

What drives people to want to write these reviews?

Over the years, I have written three negative reviews on Trip Advisor. Two were restaurants where the food and service was really, really awful. The third was a hotel that should have been sued for false advertising and closed down by its local board of health. That's what it's there for. I didn't want to see other people waste their money like I did.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 10, 2013 3:29 pm
JulieKay
(@JulieKay)
Trusted Member

What drives people to want to write these reviews?

Over the years, I have written three negative reviews on Trip Advisor. Two were restaurants where the food and service was really, really awful. The third was a hotel that should have been sued for false advertising and closed down by its local board of health. That's what it's there for. I didn't want to see other people waste their money like I did.

Yep, me too. I have used TripAdvisor successfully for many years to find good places to stay, and places to avoid. I take all reviews with a grain of salt, you can't make everyone happy!

That said I've never left a negative review for a place in the VI. I know better than to pee where I eat.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 10, 2013 3:34 pm
loucypher
(@loucypher)
Advanced Member

What drives people to want to write these reviews?

probably the same motivation that caused Minnesota to pass a law stating you cannot ride a bicycle inside your house....

some people just can't mind their own Gdamn business & want to force their point of view on others at any/every opportunity.

Sorry LF I don't agree. It's like having a bad experience with your plumber or mechanic. If someone asks for a reference you'd likely steer them away and save them the same aggravation. If you went to a destination based on all positive reviews you would expect to have similar experience. If they're flagging negative reviews for whatever reason that's not fair. Especially since they advertise so aggressively and rely on feedback from vacationers.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 10, 2013 3:37 pm
LiquidFluoride
(@LiquidFluoride)
Trusted Member

Sorry LF I don't agree. It's like having a bad experience with your plumber or mechanic. If someone asks for a reference you'd likely steer them away and save them the same aggravation. If you went to a destination based on all positive reviews you would expect to have similar experience. If they're flagging negative reviews for whatever reason that's not fair. Especially since they advertise so aggressively and rely on feedback from vacationers.

true enough, it is nice to give people a heads up... I guess I had somehow put into my mind the category of "flagrantly wrong" negative reviews, like the one recently about F'sted that I read of here on this forum.

probably best that everyone puts up their perspective (though it is easy to focus on the negative.. I mostly just look for positive reviews, and the number of them).

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 10, 2013 6:23 pm
mtdoramike
(@mtdoramike)
Trusted Member

I also mainly look to see how many favorable reviews a place or item has gotten and only look at a few of the negatives. What blows me away is when I go to a place like a vacation rental or hotel that has numerous favorable reviews and little to no negative reviews and when I get to the particular place and see the condition, I think to my self OUT LOUD "what the hell were these people thinking when they wrote such a favorable review and they must not get out much".

I have also tried leaving honest or at least honest to me reviews of an item or place and it either wouldn't accept it or I would get a message back that the review has to be approved by the owner huhhhh?

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 11, 2013 12:17 pm
AandA2VI
(@AandA2VI)
Trusted Member

I will play devils advocate. I love TA. It's awesome and I've found places like GREENGOS, Off the Grid BBQ, Driftwood David's in Stj and they are all some of my fav places to eat. I wish I would have used it more back in the day - especially for hotels. I think it's the most useful website besides google lol.

Some people are aholes and won't be happy no matter what but if it has mostly good reviews then it's likely pretty good.

Trip advisor does flag reviews. We had to have two removed recently because they were "terrible" and were the wrong damn company! People can be really stupid and not observant. One was for a boat trip and isn't even one of our boats lol. It took over a month and we had to prove it wasn't our company, from my experience they do a great job and I think it's so useful! I've only added one terrible reive and that was for Bistro 4560 in STT after the waitress blatantly lied right to my face.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 11, 2013 3:43 pm
OldTart
(@the-oldtart)
Expert

I've contributed several reviews to TA and only one was a total negative and it was of a local restaurant I'd been going to for years and which had reopened under new ownership. The review was quite scathing and passed TA muster with no problem. In response to, "What drives people to want to write these reviews?" in my case it was simply because my experience was incredibly bad, enough to prompt me to write. I've had many "not so good" meals and poor service/attitude at many different places but just suck it up and even sometimes return to give the place a second chance when it sometimes turns out that I just happened to go on a bad night - but this one truly took the cake.

Further confirming my whole feeling about the place, the owner decided to send me a private message through TA decrying my criticism at great length. I was told that it was SO unfair to criticize hardworking people, that I obviously had NO idea what they were trying to create, that I obviously knew NOTHING about food and that I shouldn't bother coming back as it was clear that nothing I could try there would suit my ignorant palate. So much for public relations and how to win over customers. A place I won't be returning to!

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 12, 2013 2:14 pm
Tiberius
(@Tiberius)
Advanced Member

And I had a really bad experience with a dive shop here. After contacting them about their screening process I re wrote the review and it still wasn't published. I got the feeling they contacted the dive shop first instead of publishing and letting the dive shop dispute my review.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 12, 2013 4:46 pm
Jamison
(@Jamison)
Trusted Member

Yall ever watch the amys baking company episode of kitchen nightmares or just google it? Its amazing.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 12, 2013 4:52 pm
watruw8ing4
(@watruw8ing4)
Trusted Member

Yall ever watch the amys baking company episode of kitchen nightmares or just google it? Its amazing.

Wow! Like the Soup Nazi, only with bad food added. Those two people are as suited to run a restaurant as a fish is to running a marathon. Wonder how much of it they staged. Apparently, they are now getting a reality show out of it.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 13, 2013 11:19 pm
Jamison
(@Jamison)
Trusted Member

Yall ever watch the amys baking company episode of kitchen nightmares or just google it? Its amazing.

Wow! Like the Soup Nazi, only with bad food added. Those two people are as suited to run a restaurant as a fish is to running a marathon. Wonder how much of it they staged. Apparently, they are now getting a reality show out of it.

reality shows are now like a life reward for being a completely wasted lifeform. Thats sad.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 15, 2013 12:25 pm
mtdoramike
(@mtdoramike)
Trusted Member

Yall ever watch the amys baking company episode of kitchen nightmares or just google it? Its amazing.

Wow! Like the Soup Nazi, only with bad food added. Those two people are as suited to run a restaurant as a fish is to running a marathon. Wonder how much of it they staged. Apparently, they are now getting a reality show out of it.

reality shows are now like a life reward for being a completely wasted lifeform. Thats sad.

Yes and unfortunately people can't seem to get enough on them either. If people would stop watching, they would stop producing them.

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 16, 2013 12:24 pm
Close Menu